Change message status

Change the status for automation, in-app automation, recurring, and throttled messages.

Pause or resume a message

You can pause/resume:

  • All messages created with the Automation composer — Pause disables the automation, so no users can trigger sending the message.
  • Recurring messagesPause disables message delivery.
  • Throttled messagesPause disables message delivery. You can pause/resume within 48 hours of send time.
  1. Go to Messages » Messages Overview.
  2. Click   Pause or   Resume for a message.

Cancel a message

Canceling a message is effectively the same as setting an End Date, immediately applying an end date of “now.” You can cancel active messages at any time. You can cancel:

  1. Go to Messages » Messages Overview.
  2. Click   Stop for a message.
 Tip

You can set an End Date in the Delivery step in the Message composer, and the Settings step for In-App Automation.

Restart an in-app automation

Restarting a canceled or expired in-app automation changes its status to Active. This is effectively a shortcut to editing the message and either eliminating or specifying an end date. You can restart messages within 14 days of expiration. After 14 days you can only duplicate the message.

  1. Go to Messages » Messages Overview.
  2. Click   Restart for the in-app automation you want to restart.
  3. Select Restart this message indefinitely or Specify an end date. To specify an end date, enter a date in YYYY-MM-DD format or use the date picker, then select the time and time zone.
  4. Click Submit.

Start or pause a journey

 Tip

  • Do not pause a journey before you edit it. Edit the journey, then click Publish changes. You can also test the journey before publishing changes.
  • You should only pause a journey when you want to stop it and use it at a later date. Paused journeys remain in your project and can be edited and started again at any time.

Pause disables message delivery but not the timer between messages. When you pause a journey:

  • New audience members cannot trigger the journey.
  • For audience members who have already triggered the journey:
    • If the delay period before your audience’s next message elapses, your audience will not receive remaining messages in the journey. (Also known as falling out out of the funnel.)
    • If you resume (Start) the journey before the delay period for your audience’s next message elapses, they will continue the journey.
  1. Go to Journeys or Messages » Messages Overview and click   for the journey you want to start or pause.
  2. Click   Start journey or   Pause journey.