Manage Messaging Team Invitations

Share or revoke access to messaging teams.

 Note

Only the company account owner or a team member with administrator permission can send or delete team invitations.

Team Access for messaging

When you create an Airship account on go.airship.com or go.airship.eu, Airship creates two linked accounts for you:

  1. Company Account (“company”)

    • Contains your projects.
    • Controlled by a single user account.
  2. User Account (“user”)

    • The owner of the company account.

A company has a single owner. Every Airship user is the owner of their own company account.

Teams for messaging are at the project level. The company owner or a user with administrator permission will:

  1. Go to Settings » Project Configuration and click Manage for Team Access.
  2. Send an invitation to join the project team. When the user accepts, they’re granted access to the project.
  3. Go to Team Management for their account and share access to additional messaging projects.

The company owner or a user with administrator permission can see the history of Team Access invitations, acceptances, permission updates, and removal in the Team Activity log.

Inviting team members

Sending a team invitation is the same thing as sharing access to a messaging project.

You can invite users to your project from the Team Access section of a project’s Settings menu. There are two ways to navigate to Team Access.

  1. Go to Settings » Project Configuration and click Manage for Team Access.

OR

  1. Click   in the right side of the Airship dashboard header and select Team Management.
  2. Under Share Project, click   next to a project name. This opens Team Access for that project.

Now you can create an invitation:

  1. Enter the email address of the user you want to invite.
    • Email addresses are case-sensitive.
    • Verify addresses for existing Airship users before sending an invitation.
       Important

      If you enter an email address for an existing Airship user and that user’s account is associated with a different email address than the one you are inviting, they will receive an email with a request to confirm the email address and activate a new account.

  2. Select an access level. See Permissions per access level for detail.
  3. (Optional) Check the box to send yourself a copy of the invitation.
  4. Click Share Project.

The new user appears in the Team Member list. Invited team members will have (pending) next to their email address until they accept the invitation or create an Airship account.

If a user with an existing Airship account declines an invitation, the user is removed from the project’s Team Member list.

A user without an Airship account will remain on the Team Member list as (pending) until they accept access or until manually removed.

Deleting a team invitation

To delete a team invitation, change a user’s access level to Remove Access:

  1. Go to Settings » Project Configuration and click Manage for Team Access.
  2. Click edit next to the user’s current access level.
  3. Select a new access level.
  4. Click Save.

Accepting a team invitation

If a user does not yet have an Airship account, they will receive an email with a request to to confirm their email address and activate the account. Saving their password activates the account and opens the Team Management page, where they can click Accept in the Project invitations list.

If a user does have an Airship account, they will receive an email asking them to accept access in Team Management in their account. They can either follow the email link, or click   in the right side of the Airship dashboard header and click Team Management, then click Accept in the Project invitations list.

If a user clicks Decline instead, the invitation is deleted.

Revoking project access

Revoking access to a messaging project is handled by changing a team member’s access level. Select Remove access as the access level.

  1. Go to Settings » Project Configuration and click Manage for Team Access.
  2. Click edit next to the user’s current access level.
  3. Select a new access level.
  4. Click Save.

To remove yourself from a project team:

  1. Click   in the right side of the Airship dashboard header and click Team Management.
  2. In the Accepted invitations list, click Revoke access for a project.